New Chair Committee



Pat Emmanuel, MD Univer. Of South Florida-Tampa



Lewis First, MD Univer. Vermont



Joseph Neglia, MD, MPH Univer. Minnesota



Mary Leonard, MD Stanford Univer.



Mitch Cohen, MD Univer. Of Alabama



Charlotte Boney, MD Bay State College



Angelo P. Giardino, MD PhD Univer. of Utah



Mary Taylor, MD Univer. of Mississippi



Bruce Rubin, MD Emeritus Chair



Charles Woods, MD,MS UT at Chattanooga



New Chairs Committee: Accomplishments Last 12 Months

- 1. Introductory calls to new chairs,
 - 12 new chairs in 2022 (one interim)
 - 23 new chairs in 2021 (six interim)
- 2. 100% who requested individual mentors were paired (n=11)
- 3. Hosted webinar/new chair discussions
 - HR issues and challenges 1/9/23
 - Developing Division Chiefs 11/9/22
 - Managing Up 09/15/22
 - Community Engagement & Advocacy:
 What Department Chairs Need to Know 04/07/22
- 4. March 2,2023 New Chair Workshop



Goals

- Dr Mitch Cohen will assume leadership.
- Continue Mentor Program for new chairs
- New Chair Workshop each year
- Webinar/Topic driven discussions throughout the year
- Monitor turnover, trends in chair appointments
- MANY THANKS to all committee members and MENTORS!
- Come join our committee, become a mentor or suggest topics.

 pemmanue@usf.edu; mcohen@peds.uab.edu; laura@degnon.org